A- A+

Dangerous Goods Inspectors

Dangerous Goods Inspectors are based throughout Alberta and are responsible for the delivery of the Dangerous Goods program throughout each geographical region (see map), ensuring the safe and uniform approach to the handling, offering and transporting of dangerous goods within Alberta.

Inspector’s roles include:

  • Conducting facility inspections on consignor and carrier companies that handle, offer for transport or transport dangerous goods,
  • Providing technical support to emergency response teams at dangerous good incidents,
  • Providing technical support to Albertans involved in the offering, handling or transporting of dangerous goods,
  • Monitoring registered highway tank facilities ensuring their compliance to conduct functions in accordance with their Transport Canada Certificates of Registration and to the dangerous goods legislation,
  • Provide advice to industry for dangerous goods compliance on an ongoing basis, and
  • Liaise with Transport Canada dangerous goods inspectors.

For more information please contact the Dangerous Goods Inspector in your area.

LOCATION INSPECTOR PHONE EMAIL

Edmonton

Chief Inspector
Doug Horvat

780-415-0686

doug.horvat@gov.ab.ca

Grande Prairie

Leigh Batty

780-538-6173

leigh.batty@gov.ab.ca

Edmonton

Cale Thurston

780-415-2507

cale.thurston@gov.ab.ca

Vermilion

Christine Cartier

780-853-8101

christine.cartier@gov.ab.ca

Lloydminster

Mike Robson

780-871-6442

mike.robson@gov.ab.ca

Red Deer

Andrew Pillman

403-340-4963

andrew.pillman@gov.ab.ca

Calgary

Bruce Laidlaw

403-297-8799

bruce.laidlaw@gov.ab.ca

Lethbridge

Kurt Parks

403-381-5220

kurt.parks@gov.ab.ca